Sunday, 20 September 2009

Local Cyclocross Race & Results Sept 20. By Suzanne Blackwell

Elite riders from all over the province turned out along with local cyclists for a provincial cyclocross race hosted by the Central Alberta Bicycle Club this Sunday Sept. 20. Despite sunny weather, riders fought fierce winds through punishing sandpits and hill runs for the intense 40-60 minute looped races.

Local riders represented the Red Deer area well with Annie Rogoschewsky just missing the podium in 4th place for the Womens Open Category, Jason Frank placing 8th in Mens Expert, and Stacey Mateika, Evan Harbinson, and Ken Kahanyshyn grabbing 13th, 15th, & 17th respectively in Mens Sport. The C.A.B.C. (Communications Group), Wipeout Bike & Ski, and Savy Cycle provided prizes. Podium results are listed below:

Womens Open: Name Team
1st Place: Bridget Linder Hardcore Cycling
2nd Place: Caeli Barron Synergy
3rd Place: Lesley Baldwin Hardcore Cycling

Mens Elite:
1st Place: David Larson Pedalhead Road Works
2nd Place: Shawn Bunnin Bicisport
3rd Place: Ryan Hopping United Cycle

Expert Men:
1st Place: Mac Garvin Cyclemeisters / Bow Cycle
2nd Place: Mark Rumsey Hardcore Cycling
3rd Place: Todd Barraclough Velocity

Mens Sport:
1st Place: Tommy Beaulieu Juventus
2nd Place: Joshua Krabbe Hardcore Cycling
3rd Place: Austin Miller Bicisport

No comments:

Post a Comment